Jump to content


Photo

Cruise Control - ECU Reprogramming?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Dullah7861

Dullah7861

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Golf V GT TDI 2.0 140PS

Posted 19 December 2016 - 07:17 PM

Hi guys,

I have a 2005 mk5 2.0 GT TDi. I'm literally going insane trying to sort out the cruise control on my car! I've changed the clutch pedal switch as well as checking the stalk. I've been to a number of mechanics and wasted a lot of money to find out none of them know what the issue is. Car has been connected to diagnostics machine but had no luck, as no errors are showing. I took the car to an electrician car mechanic who advised the ecu may need reprogramming. My only issue is my car has been remapped so to reprogram the ecu, am i right in thinking i would lose m remap?

Also can anyone think of any other reason why the cruise control isnt working at all?


#2 NZDubNurd

NZDubNurd

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Whangarei, New Zealand
  • Other Models

Posted 11 January 2017 - 09:38 AM

MAF issues have resulted in non-functioning cruise on rare occasions.

 

It may also be re-map related???



#3 Dullah7861

Dullah7861

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Golf V GT TDI 2.0 140PS

Posted 11 January 2017 - 11:32 PM

Hi NZDubNurd,

Thanks for replying.

I can confirm it is not map related, the cruise control did not work even before the remap was installed.

In regards to the MAF, I have hard if this does get knackered it can affect the cruise control on some occasions. Do you think it is worth cleaning the maf. If so what should you clean it with? Or just replace it? How much should this part cost? I'm not really good with car mechanics, but if i were to replace it, is it an easy job?

Thanks

MAF issues have resulted in non-functioning cruise on rare occasions.

It may also be re-map related???



#4 sootpig

sootpig

    Adrian

  • Full Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4138 posts
  • Ashford, Kent
  • A4 3.0 TDI Bus of Moderate Win

Posted 12 January 2017 - 12:49 AM

Is it a factory fitted cruise control, or retro fit?



#5 Dullah7861

Dullah7861

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Golf V GT TDI 2.0 140PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 05:16 PM

How do i find out mate? I bought the car second hand so not sure.

Is it a factory fitted cruise control, or retro fit?



#6 Dullah7861

Dullah7861

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Golf V GT TDI 2.0 140PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 08:48 PM

Anyone know which fuse i need to check in the fuse box for the cruise control? I've lost my manual book.

#7 adam-

adam-

    K04-064'd 1.8t

  • Full Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4444 posts
  • Glasgow
  • Golf IV GTI 1.8T 20v AUM 150PS

Posted 13 January 2017 - 07:51 AM

Does the cluster recognise you turning it on?  You'll need VCDS to check switch position, clutch/brake pedal function.


facebook.com/adamforbes92
ig: adamforbes92
 


#8 Dullah7861

Dullah7861

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Golf V GT TDI 2.0 140PS

Posted 13 January 2017 - 09:06 PM

How do i check if the cluster recognises it? I've changed the clutch pedal switch still no luck.

I had a mechanic use a diagnostic machine, he said there were no errors. I've been told the switch is receiving power.

Not really sure what's wrong, it's driving me crazy

Does the cluster recognise you turning it on? You'll need VCDS to check switch position, clutch/brake pedal function.



#9 dopiaza

dopiaza

    Hang on like this MKIV thing

  • Full Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2023 posts
  • West Yorkshire
  • Golf V GT TDI 2.0 140PS DSG

Posted 14 January 2017 - 01:22 PM

Post your location, there may be someone nearby who can help with VCDS.

 

Does the green light come on the dash when you turn the CC switch on?

 

Mine didn't work when I bought it but it just needed the ECU coding to sort and it works perfectly now.



#10 Dullah7861

Dullah7861

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Golf V GT TDI 2.0 140PS

Posted 14 January 2017 - 01:36 PM

During weekdays, I am in Warrington and weekends Burton on Trent.

When i switch on the cruise control, the light does not come on at all.

I believe mine could also be related to ecu coding need to be done. How much did that cost you?

Post your location, there may be someone nearby who can help with VCDS.

Does the green light come on the dash when you turn the CC switch on?

Mine didn't work when I bought it but it just needed the ECU coding to sort and it works perfectly now.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users