Photo

Problem with bench test rig for mk4 cluster swap

Best Answer SteveB18 , 25 January 2017 - 07:14 AM

Finally sorted it. Turned out to be a loose connection on the K line!

It was OK when I first checked it with a meter but it lost connection when I stretched the lead to plug it in......

Now have a working bench rig, couldn't get skc with vag tacho as you predicted. Got it with Eeprom programmer. I have also enabled the Welcome message, and adjusted mileage to my car. Turns out miles to empty and illuminated needles was already enabled.

Big thank you for you help and advice guys Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 SteveB18

SteveB18

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Portsmouth
  • Golf IV 1.6 16v BCB 105PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 06:25 AM

Hi all

First post from a newbie here.

I'm attempting to upgrade my mk4 2001 golf 1.6 16v s 5 door hatch. (Immo 2) I have got full fis immo 3 clocks. I have set up a bench rig and have followed the connections as per the post below to get the skc code so I can code it to my car.

http://forums.tdiclu...ad.php?t=309672

I'm using VCDS and Vag tacho. I cannot get either to connect on my bench rig. (Both connect and work with the clocks in my car)

I get no response from module. When I test the interface in Vcds I get a K2 short to ground error.

I am aware of the k-line vcds aftermarket stereo problem.. But that doesn't seem to apply. I have also tested the connections with a meter to see if there is a leak to earth. No problems found.

I feel that the obd2 female L-line k2 (pin 15) needs to be connected to the t32 blue or green connectors somewhere.. But from looking at the pinouts I can't see anything obvious.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Steve

#2 adam-

adam-

K04-064'd 1.8t

• Full Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5143 posts
  • Glasgow
  • Golf IV GTI 1.8T 20v AUM 150PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 07:40 AM