Jump to content


Photo

Problem with bench test rig for mk4 cluster swap


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 SteveB18

SteveB18

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Portsmouth
  • Golf IV 1.6 16v BCB 105PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 06:25 AM

Hi all

First post from a newbie here.

I'm attempting to upgrade my mk4 2001 golf 1.6 16v s 5 door hatch. (Immo 2) I have got full fis immo 3 clocks. I have set up a bench rig and have followed the connections as per the post below to get the skc code so I can code it to my car.

http://forums.tdiclu...ad.php?t=309672

I'm using VCDS and Vag tacho. I cannot get either to connect on my bench rig. (Both connect and work with the clocks in my car)

I get no response from module. When I test the interface in Vcds I get a K2 short to ground error.

I am aware of the k-line vcds aftermarket stereo problem.. But that doesn't seem to apply. I have also tested the connections with a meter to see if there is a leak to earth. No problems found.

I feel that the obd2 female L-line k2 (pin 15) needs to be connected to the t32 blue or green connectors somewhere.. But from looking at the pinouts I can't see anything obvious.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Cheers

Steve


#2 adam-

adam-

    K04-064'd 1.8t

  • Full Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Glasgow
  • Golf IV GTI 1.8T 20v AUM 150PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 07:40 AM

You need the SKC from both the cluster in the car and the new cluster. Once you've pulled the SKC from the original cluster, just swap in the new one and repeat the process.

 

A bench rig isn't needed.  How have you wired it up?  


facebook.com/adamforbes92

ig: adamforbes92


#3 SteveB18

SteveB18

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Portsmouth
  • Golf IV 1.6 16v BCB 105PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 08:14 AM

Hi

Thanks for the reply.

I have the Skc from my old clocks, although the guide on here says I don't need it? Set the bench rig up so I can get the skc from the new clocks with vag tacho. I could plug it into the car and do it but I was hoping to make a start before I start pulling my car apart.

I have connected it as per the post above:

Blue connector:

Pin:
1 - terminal 15 positive (12 volts)
23 - terminal 30, positive (12 volts)
24 - terminal 31, earth (ground)
25 - self diagnosis/K-wire (K-line)
----------------------------------------------------------------
OBD connector:

Pin:
4+5 - Ground
7 - K-line
16 - 12 volts

---------------------------------------------------------------

Aditional:

Blue connector:

Pin:
22 - ground (coolant temp)

Green connector:

Pin:
6-washer fluid (ground)
7-brake pad sensor (ground)

23 ,24 ,25 - ground for MFA

Any ideas on the k2 ground error?

Cheers

Steve

#4 adam-

adam-

    K04-064'd 1.8t

  • Full Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Glasgow
  • Golf IV GTI 1.8T 20v AUM 150PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 08:36 AM

Patch vag-tacho; it's garbage.  Use EEPROM Programmer.  It's a link to my Google Drive on my build thread.  

 

You need the SKC from the new cluster.  Just fit it and use EEPROM programmer to grab it.  It's two screws to remove the cluster.  Put the column as low as it'll go and pull it out as far as it'll go.  It gives more space to maneuver the cluster out.

 

Remove the k-line from the interface and check again.  Are you using a genuine cable?  Have you tested it in the car?


facebook.com/adamforbes92

ig: adamforbes92


#5 SteveB18

SteveB18

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Portsmouth
  • Golf IV 1.6 16v BCB 105PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 01:43 PM

Hi Adam

Thanks will try the EP. I guess I will have to do the swap in the car. I was hoping to do some of it inside in the warm!

The interfaces are ebay specials but work fine in car. So I assume the problem is the harness connection.

I've been trying to find where the L-line goes in a bench rig if at all?

Thanks for your help

Steve

#6 adam-

adam-

    K04-064'd 1.8t

  • Full Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Glasgow
  • Golf IV GTI 1.8T 20v AUM 150PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 02:18 PM

Warm the car up before you start; it will only take 5 minutes. :)

 

L-line?


facebook.com/adamforbes92

ig: adamforbes92


#7 SteveB18

SteveB18

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Portsmouth
  • Golf IV 1.6 16v BCB 105PS

Posted 12 January 2017 - 03:58 PM

Lol. The L-line or K2 pin 15 on the obd2 connector. That is apparently needed on some older cars to 'wake up' the module.. when I do the VCDS interface test I get the k2 (L-line) ground error, even though it's not connected to anything!

So I'm wondering if I connect it to one of the t32 pins in either the green or blue connector on the cluster it will work?

I did try joining it to the K-line. I then got a K-line to ground error but k2 was ok!

I'm sure it's a simple fix.... !!!!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users