Mk4 Cluster clock replacement - HELP! - Page 2 - VAG Diagnostic Software Discussion - uk-mkivs

Jump to content


Photo

Mk4 Cluster clock replacement - HELP!


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#31 northpole

northpole

    I live here

  • Full Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10187 posts
  • Suffolk
  • **-----**

Posted 10 February 2021 - 02:37 PM

holy crap! a 5 pound vagcom cable (chinese clone with vagcom 4.09) and vag k- plus can commander version 1.4  and you can do it yourself!  i actually  done this job without the need for the skc from the old clocks as you can pull it from the ECU with vag K- plus can commander and that cheap vagcom cable...  than when you have it you just go into vagcom and follow the steps as found here on the forum or as they are described on the Ross-tech wiki...  ( but that means you'll need a laptop running windows with at least one usb port) 

 

 

it sounds hard but it deffo isn't if you can follow a cake recepie than you can do this yourself if you have the right stuff... and if you can't because you don't understand it any youngster that is computer savvy will be able to do it or you .. you just have to get the cable of eBay and the rest of the software is just a google search and download away

 

 

otherwise find another garage to have it done, there are vw specialist garages everywhere they'll do this for you in an hour or so...    




#32 fv1200

fv1200

    Just grazing

  • Full Members
  • PipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Bristol BS16 7AE
  • Golf IV GTTDI 1.9 ASZ 130PS

Posted 10 February 2021 - 02:57 PM

I have collected both clocks from them , to try and source someone to clear the new ones, but how can they get the immobiliser pin from the old clocks if they wont power u/dead ? or is the immobiliser pin in the ECU also?

But yes think you maybe correct in that they are unsure what to do, as they keep updating me with different things

Can you please tell us how or when these clocks went faulty?
I advertised the technician (Dave) who called me to take the clocks apart and look for any damage/burned traces on the PCB, do you know if he has done that?
I have a bench tester for clocks but unfortunately I don’t have a bench tester for the ecu to pull the immobilizer pin.
If both clocks were working I would have asked you to send them both to me and arrange a courier collection I would have cloned the replacement clocks and no other programming would be needed.

#33 adam-

adam-

    VR6 GT35 4mo

  • Full Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11004 posts
  • Glasgow
  • Golf IV GTI 1.8T 20v AUM 150PS

Posted 10 February 2021 - 06:49 PM

Can always pull the EEP on the ECU and read it that way.  As above, I'd want to know what they've tested and how they have decided the cluster is dead. Does the new one power up and the car starts/dies?


facebook.com/adamforbes92, ig:@adam_g4fku, Adam's Anthracite Grey 1.8t Build Thread...

Best way to lose weight is not drinking mayonnaise/cheese/beer everyday.


#34 KellyR78

KellyR78

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • wakefield
  • Golf IV 1.4 16v AXP 75PS

Posted 11 February 2021 - 10:25 AM

the scenario is..... The car was stood for around a year, seemed to be a bit of moisture in the car as windows steamed up, took it for MOT  mid January 21 past , but needed new battery, brought it home drove fine ,  was in drive for just over a week then went to start it , engine went as though to star then cut out ? tried a few times and kept doing the same thing , they were no lights on dash at all, not fuel etc... took it to a Autoelec company who said it was knackered, it could not be repaired ( what he did to check I do not know)  hence buying the new one. Then took to the clocks to an  other company who said they could do it no problem ( explained everything to them) and we are now here.. still not working . Dave took original clock apart no burn damage but the eprom had moisture on it he says. 



#35 adam-

adam-

    VR6 GT35 4mo

  • Full Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11004 posts
  • Glasgow
  • Golf IV GTI 1.8T 20v AUM 150PS

Posted 11 February 2021 - 12:33 PM

Does the new cluster power up and the car start and then die?  If not, you have another issue.


facebook.com/adamforbes92, ig:@adam_g4fku, Adam's Anthracite Grey 1.8t Build Thread...

Best way to lose weight is not drinking mayonnaise/cheese/beer everyday.


#36 fv1200

fv1200

    Just grazing

  • Full Members
  • PipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Bristol BS16 7AE
  • Golf IV GTTDI 1.9 ASZ 130PS

Posted 11 February 2021 - 12:51 PM

the scenario is..... The car was stood for around a year, seemed to be a bit of moisture in the car as windows steamed up, took it for MOT mid January 21 past , but needed new battery, brought it home drove fine , was in drive for just over a week then went to start it , engine went as though to star then cut out ? tried a few times and kept doing the same thing , they were no lights on dash at all, not fuel etc... took it to a Autoelec company who said it was knackered, it could not be repaired ( what he did to check I do not know) hence buying the new one. Then took to the clocks to an other company who said they could do it no problem ( explained everything to them) and we are now here.. still not working . Dave took original clock apart no burn damage but the eprom had moisture on it he says.

Let me know if you want to send both clocks to me to have a look at them and see if the original clocks can be salvaged.
I can pull the immobilizer pin on the replacement clocks at least and try and repair the original clocks but no promises on the repair because I don’t know what other people have done to them. https://m.facebook.c...CDSdiagnostics/





uk-mkivs.net is an independent Volkswagen enthusiast website owned and operated by VerticalScope Inc. Content on uk-mkivs.net is generated by its users. uk-mkivs.net is not in any way affiliated with Volkswagen AG.